Every food is a landscape
22 Giugno 2022
4 Luglio 2022

DE.a.RE. | Uncivilised Paradigms: selection

DE.a.RE. | Uncivilised Paradigms: the fifty participants selected through the call coordinated by BJCEM

Fifty young participants, from thirty-nine different countries, have been selected to take part in  Uncivilised Paradigms, the free online course that embarks from socially engaged practices, New Genre Public Art, critical pedagogy and activism, in dialogue with contemporary artistic practices. The premise of Uncivilised Paradigms is that artistic practices are not only able to deconstruct complex interdependent socioecological crises but are in fact, able to develop ideas and stories for reciprocal states of being to dismantle them. Uncivilised Paradigms focuses on moving from debilitating mindframes and narratives.

The course intends to thead questions concerning environmental issues within the geopolitical realities of the globalised Mediterranean – such as, aridity lines, increased levels of toxicity in waters, electronic colonialism in seabeds and desertification – to issues arising within our societies and their institutions. Uncivilised Paradigms will cast a spotlight on practices that dismantle the nature-culture divide; challenge hegemonic and anthropocentric ideas of being with our worlds; question the social construct of civilisation; and that actively resist socio-political and environmental forms of oppression and injustice.

Selected partipants:

Adrian Abela

Brigita Antoni

Ermina Apostolaki

Mya Berger

Adna Camdzic

Riccardo Centazzo

Iliada Charalambous

Aadita Chaudhury


Felicia Cucuta

Yara El Turk

Amalie Elfallah

Carrie Foulkes

Rory Hierzer

Mati Jhurry

Ariana Kalliga

Katerina Kallivrousi

Margherita Kay Budillon

Libby Langsner

Yusi Liu

Paul Majer

David Mann

Lizaveta Matveeva

Anas Mghar

Chun Minji

Sebastiano Moltrer

Azal Narmon

Yubing Pan

Emmi Pennanen

Jaxon Pope

Federico Rudari

Bárbara Sánchez Barroso

Luana Santos

Edanur Seçim

Giacomo Segantin

Olivia Siino

Agata Szymanek

Filippo Tartaglia

Hoyee Tse

Sebastian Varra

Dora Vasilakou

Nikolaos Verginis

Eva Lín Vilhjálmsdóttir

Gerta Xhaferaj

Julia Yanase

Farida Youssef

Damianos Zisimou

Rahman Zikri

Volynova Nastia

Pētersone Tīna